Minnesota Tribal Government GIS Contacts

This list of contact information for Minnesota's tribal governments that use GIS provides a starting point to direct questions about geographic data and GIS technology. It was developed by Dawn Sherk in 2010 and will be updated periodically. Also see the list of tribal government websites maintained by the State of Minnesota.

Users of this list should not assume that their specific data or mapping needs can be met through these contacts.

Please send updates to: clearing.house@state.mn.us
 


Bois Forte Band of Chippewa

Andy Datko, Director of Planning and Community Development
adatko@boisforte-nsn.gov

Bill Whiteman, Planner
wwhiteman@boisforte-nsn.gov

Both contacts:
218-757-3111
Planning and Community Development website


Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Tim Krohn, Land Information Manager
Resource Management Division
1720 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720
218-878-7128
timkrohn@fdlrez.com

GIS maps website


Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Amy Seitz, Environmental Technician
Grand Portage Trust Lands
P.O. Box 428, 27 Store Road, Grand Portage, MN 55605
218-475-2028
amyseitz@boreal.org


Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Ryan Anderson, GIS Specialist
Division of Resource Management
218-335-7427
6530 US 2 NW, Cass Lake, MN 56633
RAnderson@lldrm.org

Dave Bismarck, GIS Survey Technician
Land Department
land@lldrm.org

Maps website


Lower Sioux Indian Community

Deb Dirlam, Director of Environmental Programs
Office of the Environment
39527 Res Hwy 1, Morton, MN 56270
507-697-8643
deb.dirlam@lowersioux.com


Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Mike Moilanen, Director of Planning and Project Management
Community Development
mike.moilanen@millelacsband.com

Perry Bunting, Aquatic Research Biologist
Department of Natural Resources
perry.bunting@millelacsband.com

Both contacts:
320-532-7438
43408 Oodena Drive, Onamia, MN 56359
Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe website


Prairie Island Indian Community

Kyle Herdina, Environmental Program Manager
651-385-4165
kherdina@piic.org

Marc Mogan, Tribal Engineer
651-267-4084
mmogan@piic.org

Both contacts:
5636 Sturgeon Lake Road, Welch, MN 55089-9635
Prairie Island Indian Community website


Red Lake Band of Chippewa

Scott Abel, GIS Specialist
Red Lake DNR
sabel@redlakenation.org

Mitch Wilson, GIS/Inventory Forester
Red Lake DNR
mwil80@hotmail.com

Both contacts:
218-679-3959
15761 High School Drive, Red Lake, MN 56671
Red Lake DNR website


Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community

Shawn Kelley, Environmental Scientist
952-496-6196
shawn.kelley@shakopeedakota.org

Stanley Ellison, Land and Natural Resources Manager
952-496-6158
stan.ellison@shakopeedakota.org

Both contacts:
2330 Sioux Trail NW, Prior Lake, MN 55372
Land and Natural Resources website


Upper Sioux Community

Scott Wold, Environmental Director
Office of the Environment
P.O. Box 147, Granite Falls, MN 56241
320-564-6337
scottw@uppersiouxcommunity-nsn.gov

Upper Sioux Community website


White Earth Nation

Dawn Sherk, GIS Technician/Transportation Planner
Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 418, White Earth, MN 56591
218-983-3263
dawns@whiteearth.com

White Earth Reservation website (navigate to Map of the Nation)


Return to GIS contacts page